Sega Saturn Development > Project announcement

Virtua Skimmer

(1/7) > >>

SkimmingSanshiro:
Heres my project i've been working on. Its a Tony Hawk style Skimboard game, you do whats called a "wrap" on a wave and do as many tricks as possible without falling 

Its still a work in progress but I reached the dynamic memory usage limit and probably be awhile before I can do a significant update since i'm still learning basics. Recommended emulator is Yabause as SSF is too fast. On Saturn hardware everything is a bit to fast(the wave especially) but probably more the speed im looking for finished. The water dithered mesh that moves rapidly im going to replace with a Grandia water style raster effect as the current jerking motion is almost flashing colors at you.

Issues-
runs about %50 to fast on sff %40 to slow in Yabause compared to hardware(Overall speed in general not finished)
Out of dynamic memory for more transformations
Printf tricks dont clear when finish run
Gameplay is about %30 (No real collision/Hacky Gravity + Controls)

To Do-
Move mesh/Textures off main ram to free up dynamic memory
Grandia Style Water effect(VDP2 Raster effect?https://youtu.be/Foln_F9ggk8?t=1m46s)
Link system (Tricks must be done quickly together or lose link)
Animation
Convert title screen meshes to hardcoded images
Collision/Physics
2 Player
Fishing mode using saturn mouse

https://github.com/VirtuaSkimmer/Virtua-Skimmer-Sega-Saturn-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqetF9Q5tG0

XL2:
 Good job!
I'll try to give you a hand if I can find some free time.

Using the tool I made you should fix all your memory issues.
You probably allocate memory for sprites but don't clear it.
Also make sure your sprites are loaded from the disk, not hardcoded.

For the framerate, when you use "slSynch ()", it will wait unitl the end of the allocated time before rendering again, so it shouldn't be too fast nor too slow depending on your settings. The jo core run also calls slSynch at the end of each loop.