Author Topic: Virtua Skimmer  (Read 1224 times)

SkimmingSanshiro

• View Profile
Virtua Skimmer
« on: April 25, 2018, 03:04:19 pm »
Heres my project i've been working on. Its a Tony Hawk style Skimboard game, you do whats called a "wrap" on a wave and do as many tricks as possible without falling 

Its still a work in progress but I reached the dynamic memory usage limit and probably be awhile before I can do a significant update since i'm still learning basics. Recommended emulator is Yabause as SSF is too fast. On Saturn hardware everything is a bit to fast(the wave especially) but probably more the speed im looking for finished. The water dithered mesh that moves rapidly im going to replace with a Grandia water style raster effect as the current jerking motion is almost flashing colors at you.

Issues-
runs about %50 to fast on sff %40 to slow in Yabause compared to hardware(Overall speed in general not finished)
Out of dynamic memory for more transformations
Printf tricks dont clear when finish run
Gameplay is about %30 (No real collision/Hacky Gravity + Controls)

To Do-
Move mesh/Textures off main ram to free up dynamic memory
Grandia Style Water effect(VDP2 Raster effect?https://youtu.be/Foln_F9ggk8?t=1m46s)
Link system (Tricks must be done quickly together or lose link)
Animation
Convert title screen meshes to hardcoded images
Collision/Physics
2 Player
Fishing mode using saturn mouse

https://github.com/VirtuaSkimmer/Virtua-Skimmer-Sega-Saturn-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqetF9Q5tG0

XL2

• View Profile
Re: Virtua Skimmer
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2018, 01:58:09 am »
 Good job!
I'll try to give you a hand if I can find some free time.

Using the tool I made you should fix all your memory issues.
You probably allocate memory for sprites but don't clear it.
Also make sure your sprites are loaded from the disk, not hardcoded.